Death can be beautiful

I have decided to start writing down my thoughts concerning life. Unfortunately, my first post concerns yesterday’s passing of my father-in-law, Jerry Miller.

I met Jerry almost 30 years ago. My wife, Denise, and I were new students at a school in Dallas, Texas. One year later, I married Denise in Casa Grande, Arizona.
Jerry was a perfect example of a man with a happy heart. He loved to laugh and make other people laugh. He loved to sing the oldies. He knew the words to every song released in the 50s and 60s. He loved classic cars. Most of all…HE LOVED FOOD!
On his first trip to see us when we lived in New Jersey, he talked about food from Little Italy, food from China Town, Hot dogs and chestnuts from the streets of NY, and cannoli (an Italian pastry). Every gathering centered around his love of food. It was a valuable part of every family event. He saw it as an important part of the celebration of life. We thought it was only fitting that we shared southern food and drank champagne to honor him in his passing.
Another thing that marked his life was his generosity. My wife and I had very little when we first got married. He paid for the honeymoon, our vehicle, my wife’s school bills, and much more. He gave of his time. He spent time with the ones he loved, as well as people he just met. He was genuinely interested in others and knew their life story after just one encounter (and he actually cared).
I am truly thankful for what he accomplished in his life. I am especially thankful that I was able to watch him throughout his life.
The world lost one of the great ones.
Thank you Lord that we were able to have him for as long as we did.
We love you Jerry.
See you at the finish line.

 
635
Kudos
 
635
Kudos

Now read this

Simple Days

Simple Days Entertainment is the name I chose for my company many years ago. Many people have asked me about my company’s name. I struggled finding a name but eventually settled on the title of a song I wrote about my grandfather. It is... Continue →